17 May 2020

Lockdown: At Home - Catherine

What’s your name and what do you do?

Hi! I’m Catherine and I’m co-owner of MAVEN along with my sister Patricia

Who lives in your home?

Me and my cat Justin Bobbie.

How would you describe your home?

I live in a small flat with 2 bedrooms. The living room is a really good size with a huge ceiling to floor window at the front, the morning sun is amazing. I am definitely ON the plant bandwagon, I’ve been thinking my flat must have been kinda bare beforehand. My flat is a little bit of everything and is a bit more organised in lockdown. I have a mid-century console and coffee table and some more modern pieces like a Mags Sofa and Muuto Compile shelving unit. My parents are convinced the coffee table is an old one of theirs they got rid of some time ago. As well as many many plants, I’m also addicted to throws. I have 4 on my sofa… makes it cosy and adds random colour and texture to the space. I’m fortunate enough to have a terrace, I’m on the ground floor so I’m getting around to planting out the space. I have a Palissade louge sofa and ottoman out there.

What have you enjoyed about your home during the lockdown?

I love pottering. I’ve been moving things around and getting rid of some bits I no longer need. I’ve enjoyed the amazing weather and getting to sit outside for lunch, which seems like a luxury. 

Is there a DIY job you've got round to that you're proud of?

DIY is not my middle name. I really have to paint my bedroom but I’m not ready to take that task on just yet…I was meant to go to Bali on 17th March which didn’t happen so if I get my money back I think I’ll treat myself to getting a professional in to do the painting. I’ve put some hooks up on the bathroom doors and next is sanding down an oak stool which has got a few water stains on it. I’ll pretend I’m Danish when I’m doing that. Oh, I changed the light bulbs in my cooker hood – does that count?

If you could change anything about your home, what would it be?

Magic it into a house in leafy East Belfast? One thing I would do is change the bathroom door. It opens into the hallway which is small, I’d change it up to a sliding door. And I’d get rid of the spot lighting. I love my flat though, it has higher ceilings than normal for a new build and with the outdoor space it feels very spacious.

What’s the most recent thing you’ve bought for your home?

HAY crates and a Ferm Plant box – one of the new large low ones for outside.  I’ve also bought more candles and incense. Things to help make my home more cosy and organised I suppose!

What’s been your go-to meal in the last few weeks?

My appetite is a bit all over the show at the moment so I’m trying to eat properly, have been getting Hello Fresh deliveries the last couple of weeks. I’m also pretty sure that i’m 65% sourdough these days. I have also just discoverd the frozen Pains Aux Raisins from M&S, they’re amazing. So yeah, a lots of carbs in lockdown.

Is there anything you’ve started to do during lockdown that you’d like to continue as ‘normality’ resumes?

Video calling!!!! I’m converted. I’m really enjoying cycling and exploring my local neighbourhood. I’ll definitely keep up cycling, I’ve built up my confidence now on the roads after them having been so quiet. Was cool at the very start being able to cycle into town when it was deserted, very ‘28 Days Later’. Shame Cillian Murphy wasn’t around to chat to. It would be really nice to see some of the new local delivery services that have popped up staying around, I’m sure they will for the foreseeable. I’m a bit obsessed with David O’Dohertys Isolating podcast, he’s on Achill island with his parents and it his antics are helping me stay sane. I hope he keeps up the podcast after all this.



Can’t find what you’re looking for? Let us help.

Check our FAQs or
send us an email at

© Maven 2024 • Website by Pale Blue Dot