30 May 2020

Lockdown: At Home - Wendy

What’s your name and what do you do?

Wendy Crawford and I’m the owner of Scout, an independent store based in Dublin selling carefully sourced apparel, homewares and Irish Design.

Who lives in your home?

I live with my husband James and our four year old son, Henry

How would you describe your home?

It’s an Edwardian house not far from the city centre. It has old features and my eye tends to go towards antiques or mid-century design so it’s full of little finds from over the years and its painted in dark colours throughout.

What have you enjoyed about your home during the lockdown?

It has been a haven. We consider ourselves so lucky to have a secure home.

I've really enjoyed spending time in the small garden out the back. We hung bird feeders and we have enjoyed watching all the feathered daily visitors. 

Is there a DIY job you've got round to that you're proud of?

Just the garden. I luckily had bought a range of plants just before everything closed so I spent a weekend digging up the beds and moving plants around. It was so much fun and it has created another enjoyable space for us to spend our time during lockdown. More to do on it but its been a really lovely work in progress. 

If you could change anything about your home, what would it be?

If I could change our kitchen I’d be so happy. Its lovely but tiny and it does the job, but we frustratingly have a space just beyond our kitchen that we can extend into and would love to. So we are working towards that as our next project.

What’s the most recent thing you’ve bought for your home?

We put new windows into the house about a month before lockdown! When we moved in a few years ago it was a real mix of plastic windows so we saved up to put the original sash windows back in and it was really worth the wait!

What’s been your go-to meal in the last few weeks?

Homemade pizzas have been a fairly regular feature on our weekly cooking! 

Is there anything you’ve started to do during lockdown that you’d like to continue as ‘normality’ resumes?

Much more family time. Especially at weekends. Working in retail demands a lot of weekend work but I’d like to find ways to enjoy more off time to spend with James and Henry!




Can’t find what you’re looking for? Let us help.

Check our FAQs or
send us an email at

© Maven 2024 • Website by Pale Blue Dot